I typically focus like a microscope; tuning out everything around me and focusing on the job at hand. This can be a blessing and a curse, I get work done quickly with 100% attention; however, people sometimes find they have to yell to get my attention when I’m really deep into something. But, if it’s loud or there are lots of conversations, my focus wanes and I can’t get ANYTHING done. I found that white noise greatly helps my mind get back into gear. I found this tool, Noisli, that produces various mixes of background tracks, to be a great asset.

Screen Shot 2017-07-12 at 5.50.40 PM.png

It really lets you nerd-out with the controls for each specific sound and lets you save your sound creation, and even set a timer. There are focused Productivity and Relax settings, along with a Random shuffle that is quite good. My favorite combo? Campfire Storm V2, which combines a roaring fire with a stormy background to get me on track.

