Nowadays our phones and other mobile devices are pretty powerful pieces of kit. However, our vehicle’s accessory 12v system may not! On my Excursion, the USB from the aftermarket head unit barely kept my phone at the current level when running Gaia GPS and other Android Auto apps out in the backcountry. The solution? Two parts, using Wireless Android Auto and a high-output USB socket.

First, we needed to remove the head unit’s USB from the equation, and I went with the CARSIFI Wireless Android Auto Adapter. This was simply a plug-and-play operation with the Jensen CAR910X and my Pixel 6a, no updates or changes were needed after installing the CARSIFI app and confirming I had the latest firmware.

Second, like Tim the Tool-Man Taylor always recommends, more power! I chose the Cllena 12V USB Outlet Dual Quick Charge 3.0 & PD USB C Three-Port USB Charger Socket with Voltmeter and Power Switch, since the Excursion supplies all sockets with 12v at all times and I wanted a way to turn off this power-hungry socket.

Next, wiring. I keep my phone in the THIS HILL Car Cup Holder Expander Adapter with Removable Phone Holder, mounted in the center console. There is a 12v socket in the back of the console, which I chose as a source for my USB socket. I removed the center console (only 4 bolts and a single harness connector, gotta love mid-2000s Fords), then wired in a Weatherpack connector to the existing socket. Then using a rotary cutting tool, opened a hole in the front of the console in a little cubby for the socket. I loosely installed the console and plugged in the harness to test, then fully reinstalled it once I had verified power. The installation looks OEM while providing way more than OEM power.

Now my phone charges in record time and I don’t live in fear of running the battery down while out exploring.

Cover photo by Andrey Metelev on Unsplash